ERA Dance Academy
No.5B-2 Jalan Raya Timur Kawasan 1,
Pusat Bandar Klang, 41000 Klang,
(opp to Klang KTM Station)

Dance is a physical as well as virtual form of art whereby it communicates with the medium of his/her body. The Indian classical dance forms revolve around the “nine rasas” / emotions. All dance forms follow the same hand gestures / mudras for each of these rasa.

There are seven type of Indian classical dance:

BharataNatyam, Kathak, Kathakali, Kuchipudi, Manipuri, Mohiniattam & Odissi.



BharataNatyam is the most and widely practiced Indian classical dance forms of South India and worldwide. It consists of three elements:

Nritta    : rhythmic

Nrittya   : rhythm + expression

Natya    : dramatic



This form of dance originally evolved in North India. The unique of this classical dance form is the fast footwork & spins.



This Indian classical dance originated in the 17th Century in Kerala. In Kathakali, the story is completely enacted by mudras, facial expression & body movements.



This Indian classical dance origin from Manipur, India. This dance is highly elegant and laced with graceful movements.



This Indian classical dance origin from Andhra Pradesh and its form of dance-drama with combination of Natya, Nritta & Nritya.



The origin of Odissi dance is from Orissa in the eastern part of India. The different essences of the Odissi dance style are Mangalacharna, Baru Nrityaya, Pallavi, Abhinaya & Moksha.



Mohiniattam originally evolved in Kerala, South India. Basically it performs by females with graceful movement.